My Plan for a Minimalist Wardrobe


new post almost every sunday at 8am ๐Ÿ˜ฌ


I Used to Have a Lot of Clothes ๐Ÿ‘•

By a lot, I mean like I really had a lot of clothes. This was back when I was in highschool & middle school. I mean I really had a lot of clothes.

  • Walk in closet (Full)
  • Those white shelves you put together (Full)
  • Regular closet in guest bedroom (Full)
  • Downstairs jacket closet (Full)

As you can see, I had clothes all over the house. It was to the point where I had to start using other closets because the one in my room couldn’t fit any other clothes.

The Problem With Too Much Clothes โ›”

I didn’t wear anything. I probably had 10 different shirts that I would wear regularly. Aside from that, I had like 30 – 40 shirts total that never got worn. This was the same thing with everything else. I only wore a few pieces regularly and everything else either never got worn or only got worn every once in awhile.

Years Later and I’ve Minimalized My Wardrobe Entirely

So flash forward like 6 or 7 years and I own like nothing. I can litereally list all the clothes I own in a few bullet points.

  • 12 – White Tees
  • 12 – Pairs of Dickies black socks
  • 12 – Pairs of boxers
  • 1 – Pair of black jeans
  • 1 – Pair of Adidas shorts
  • 5 – Pairs of workout shorts
  • 1 – Down jacket
  • 1 – Patagonia quarter zip sweater
  • 1 – Alaska tan hat
  • 1 – Pair of Adidas slides
  • 2 – Sneakers
  • 1 – Black chukka boots
  • 1 – Pair of basketball shoes

This is seriously all the clothes I own. I can fit it all on one clothes rack and like one drawer. It’s so small.

So What’s the Problem?

I’m bored of wearing the same damn white tee every day. It was okay for the first year or so, but it’s pretty lame at this point. I’m trying to wear some other clothes. I’m trying to get some new clothes, but at the same time, I don’t want to end up in the same hole of having too many different clothes.

So Here’s the Plan ๐Ÿ“š

I’m going to buy everything in this single YouTube video because this guy’s style resonates with me. On top of that, he looks comfortable and being comfortable is important in my clothes. He has enough solid color pieces to where he can simply mix and match to easily come up with different outfits. So go ahead and give it a watch. It’s a few short minutes and his video editing is pretty good too.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started